Ministry Of Education Launches COVID-19 National Education Response Committee

Ministry Of Education Launches COVID-19 National Education Response Committee

Last Updated at: 2020-05-23 22:39:26

UPON the outbreak of the COVID-19 in Kenya, His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta ordered the closure of all schools and other learning institutions on March 15th, 2020 as part of the measures to control the spread of the virus.     Although schools were expected to resume learning when the Second Term was scheduled to start on May 4th, 2020, the Government extended the reopening date for one month to given more room for the scale up of the national efforts to fight the spread of COVID-19.


In the meantime, the Ministry has come up with measures to mitigate the effects of COVID-19 in the education sector, including mounting of online learning and the drafting of a master-plan to guide the response to COVID-19 in the education sector.    Aware that the effects of the pandemic have hurt the basic education sector the most - threatening to wipe out the gains made to stabilise the academic calendar - the Ministry has appointed a NINE-member committee to take charge of the process of exploring the best possible strategies of restoring normality in the sub-sector.  The Kenya Institute for Curriculum Development Chairperson Dr. Sarah Ruto will chair the COVID-19 Education Response Committee whose work starts with immediate effect. Education Cabinet Secretary Prof. George Magoha launched the team today at the KICD, Nairobi. Members of the Committee are:


1. Mr. Indimuli Kahi Chairman, Kenya Secondary Schools Heads Association  

2. Mr. Nicholas Gathemia Chairman, Kenya Primary Schools Heads Association  

3. Mr. Peter Ndoro CEO, Kenya Private Schools Association  

4. Mr. Nicholas Maiyo Chairman, Kenya Parents Association  

5. Ms. Augustine Muthigani Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops  

6. Ms. Jane Mwangi Kenya Association for Independent International Schools  

7. Dr. Nelson Makanda National Council of Churches of Kenya (NCCK)  

8. Sheikh Munawar Khan Muslim Education Council  

9 Mr Peter Sitienei Chairman, Kenya Special Schools Heads Association



Ex-Officio Members     


1. Ms. Ruth Mugambi Kenya Institute for Curriculum Development  

2. Mr. Patrick Ochich Kenya National Examinations Council  

3. Mr. Gabriel Mathenge  Teachers Service Commission  

4. Mr. Paul Kibet Director, Secondary Education, MoE  

5. Ms. Anne Gachoya Directorate of Policy, Partnerships and EAC  

6. Dr. Loice Ombajo Ministry of Health/University of Nairobi    

The terms of reference of the COVID-19 Education Response Committee are to:   


1. Advise the Cabinet Secretary on the reopening of Basic Education institutions (Pre-Primary. Primary, Secondary Schools, Teacher Training Colleges and Adult Education Institutions.)  

2. Review and reorganise the school calendar as part of the COVID-19 post-recovery strategy.  

3. Advise the Cabinet Secretary on ways of onboarding students/pupils when the schools re-open.  

4. Document all COVID-19 related matters, lessons learnt and recommendations for future preparedness.  

5. Advise the Cabinet Secretary on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the demand for education by poor households and suggest mitigation measures.  

6. Advise the Cabinet Secretary on the Health and Safety measures to be put in place for the pupils/students, teachers and entire school community.  

7. Identify institutions that may have been adversely affected by COVID-19 and advise on mitigation and recovery measures.  

8. Submit regular reports to the Cabinet Secretary on the implementation progress of COVID-19 related programmes.  

9. Any other related duty that may be assigned by the Cabinet Secretary.    

The Committee’s Secretariat will be located at the Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development.    


Prof. George A. O. Magoha, CBS  CABINET SECRETARY

Share This Article: FB Share Tweet WhatsApp Share Telegram Share

Do you have any breaking education news, vacancies, events, scholarships, and videos that you want us to publish? Talk to our Admins and Authors: email: or WhatsApp: +254 771 947 116 or Signal or Telegram, or our contact Form. You can also post your own blog on this site.

All Comments (0)